Nagaland Page
top ad3

Thursday, November 23, 2017

11th Jadonang Memorial Football tourney underway

Sunday, 12 November 2017 13:09
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Dimapur, November 11: The 11th Jadonang Memorial Football tournament organised by Zeliangrong Football Association got underway at THAU Ground, Imphal with Th. Biswajit Singh, Minister PWD, RD & PR, Commerce & Industry, Power, Administration Reforms & Training, Information & Public Relation, Manipur as Chief Guest and Letpao Haokip, Minister (IFCD, Youth Affairs & Sports) Manipur as Guest of Honour and Awangbou Newmai, Parliamentary Secretary for Minor Irrigation, CADA, Agriculture & PWD, Manipur as Function President.

The opening ceremony program begins with hoisting of the flag by Chief Guest followed by one minute silent prayer for the departed souls of ZFA members. Mr. Panti Gonmei, Gracy Gangmei, Julia Gangmei and various singers from Zeliangrong artist enthrall the mammoth gathering with their special number. A Rongmei cultural Dance was performed by Tribal Culture Research Centre Imphal.

Dipu Gangmei, MCS Chairman of the Organising Committee delivered the welcome address, March Pass was conducted for the participating team where all the 29 teams took part in the March Pass ceremony and the Chief Guest was on the Salutation. Oath Taking ceremony was conducted by Gaipuijai Golmei, President ZFA.

Followed by Chief Guest speech, Minister in his speech encourage the players to dedicate themselves in sports being a player, he also cited example of many sportsman and woman of Manipur who represent in National and International and brought laurel to the state and country due to their dedication and also said that in Manipur it has become a tradition to adopt sports as a discipline. 

He further encouraged the players to excel in sports and bring laurel to the community and also asked the players to set the goal to showcase the talent in higher level. 

In the opening match Sawombung Sairem Youth Club (SSYC) played against Kalalong Youth Club (KYC) where KYC defeated SSYC by 3-0.  

(Page News Service)

  West Indies to tour Pakistan for three T20s in 2018 Nagaland Women (U-19) Cricket team in Super League