Nagaland Page
top ad3

Saturday, January 20, 2018

11 ex-MPs on trial in 2005 cash-for-query scam

Friday, 08 December 2017 14:41
Rate this item
(0 votes)

New Delhi, December 7: A Delhi court on Thursday framed graft and criminal conspiracy charges against 11 former parliamentarians in the infamous 2005 cash-for-query scam.

Special judge Kiran Bansal put the 11 former MPs and an individual on trial, which will commence from January 12.

The former MPs accused in the case are Y G Mahajan (BJP), Chhatarpal Singh Lodha (BJP), Anna Saheb M K Patil (BJP), Manoj Kumar (RJD), Chandra Pratap Singh (BJP), Ram Sewak Singh (Congress), Narender Kumar Kushwaha (BSP), Pradeep Gandhi (BJP), Suresh Chandel (BJP), Lal Chandra Kol (BSP) and Raja Rampal (BSP).

A sting operation against the then MPs was conducted by two journalists which was telecast on a private news channel on December 12, 2005.

It came to be known as the cash-for-query scam. The prosecution had relied upon CDs/DVDs containing conversations among the accused and others.(PTI)

The court also framed charges against Rampal's then personal assistant, Ravinder Kumar, special public prosecutor Atul Shrivastava said.

The proceedings against one accused, Vijay Phogat, was abated after he passed away. Phogat was alleged to be a middleman. (PTI)

  RBI should tell people about benefits of note ban: VP Centre plans border protection grid to check influx of Rohingyas, B’deshis