Nagaland Page
top ad3

Sunday, February 18, 2018

Govt not to drop Muslim, Hindu from AMU, BHU

Wednesday, 11 October 2017 12:27
Rate this item
(0 votes)

New Delhi, October 10: Human Resource Development (HRD) Minister Prakash Javadekar has assured that the names of the Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) and Banaras Hindu University (BHU) will not be changed.

His assurance came after a section of media published a news item saying a committee, appointed by the university grants commission (UGC), had recommended for removing the word 'Muslim' from the AMU and 'Hindu' from BHU to reflect their "secular character."

"We have neither taken any such decision nor have any intention to do so (change names of the two Universities). Both the AMU and BHU are among the oldest universities. We do not have any intention to change their title," Javadekar told reporters while replying to a question during a press conference in Ahmedabad on Monday.

The Minister, however, said he was yet to see the report of the committee

 "The report has not come to me yet. As per terms and reference, the committee was assigned to conduct administrative, academic and research audit of the universities. We will not take cognizance of any of the suggestions that the committee has made in its report going beyond its terms and reference," the Minister added.

The UGC set up five committee to conduct audit of 10 central universities on an instruction from the HRD Ministry in April following complaints of various irregularities. The committees are understood to have submitted their reports to the UGC.

The committee which conducted audit of the AMU reportedly suggested in its report that the University should either be called just 'Aligarh University' or be named after its founder, Sir Syed Ahmed Khan. It cited the same reasons in their recommendation to change the name of the BHU by removing the word 'Hindu' from it. (Courtesy: DH)

  SC asks states to implement guidelines on safety in schools Govt directs NGOs receiving foreign funds to register with NITI Aayog