Nagaland govt. felicitates 98 sports persons for excellence

sports persons

Kohima, March 17: Nagaland government through the Department of Youth Resources and Sports (YRS) today honoured 98 sports, including five coaches with cash award of Rs 12.95 lakh and citations as part of the State Sports Awards 2019-20.
The award ceremony was held at Indira Gandhi Stadium here while the recipients of the award were from nine disciplines.
The medals achieved include – Sepaktakraw: 10 gold, 10 silver and 17 bronze; Karate -5 gold, 3 silver and 6 bronze; Taekwondo – 10 gold, 1 silver and 4 bronze; Muaythai -2 gold, 1 silver and 3 bronze; Lawn Tennis – 2 gold; Archery – 2 silver; Athletics (shot put) – 1 gold; Wrestling – 1 silver and Football – 20 bronze.
They received cash awards ranging from Rs 5,000 to Rs 21,000 for winning bronze, silver and gold medals at the north east, national and international levels of competitions from 2016 to 2020.
The five coaches honoured with the award are: Junior State Coach (volleyball) Repatemjen, Junior State Coach (Hockey) Tosovi Anthony Kharutso, Junior State Coach (Sepaktakraw) Holshe Khrieo, Junior State Coach (Taekwondo) Visabiu Peseyie and Sports Coach (Boxing) L. Chophy.
Addressing the gathering YRS Secretary Wezope Kenye said the award ceremony is the most treasured occasion of the State in order to encourage performance and inculcate competitive spirit among the young sportspersons.
He lauded the achievers and hoped they would continue to bring laurels to the state. Kenye also urged the sportspersons to continue upholding discipline and sporting spirit in order to excel.
He also hailed the coaches for grooming the youngsters to excel and bring laurels to the State while also appealing them to work towards attracting more youngsters.
Joint Secretary of Nagaland Olympic Association (NOA) Neivikuolie Nicholas Khatsu extended greetings and also congratulated the achievers and the coaches. He also encouraged sportspersons and coaches to be disciplined and hardworking to excel high.
Additional Director of YRS Megolhou Dolie informed that Nagaland State Sports Policy was instituted under the Chairmanship of Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and former president of NOA Lanu Toy and other like minded sports enthusiasts in 2004.
The YRS Department introduced the cash award from 2006-07 for performing coaches and meritorious sportsperson in recognised Olympic discipline with the objective to encourage the sportspersons so that they reach out for higher goals and strive for excellence, he said.
The Additional Director also informed that a special scheme was introduced for awarding Rs 25 lakh to winning players who bring laurels to the State and country by winning gold, silver and bronze medals in the regional, national and international levels in sub-junior and senior level respectively.
The ceremony commenced with prayer by Director ABCCTK Rev Vicavor Krose while Mhasivonuo Linyü enthralled the gathering and YRS Director Akumla Chuba tendered the vote of thanks. (Page News Service)