19thNSF Martyrs Memorial Trophy

Centurion emerges new champs

Astro-turf football ground at IGS by this Dec-Jan : Advisor Neikha

Centurion emerges
Advisor Zale Neikha with champions Centurion FC and officials of ASU organizing committee pose for lens on October 20, 2018.

Kohima, October 21: Debutants Centurion Football Club of Kohima Village has emerged as the new champions of the premier students’ memorial soccer tournament organized by Angami Students’ Union on the theme “Goal for Peace” at Kohima Local Ground here.
Playing the final match of the 19th NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy, debutants Centurion FC defeated former semi-finalist of 2009, Meriema Village Youth Organisation (MVYO) by 2-1.
The final match started with a yellow card against Kevizhakie Ciesotsu within the first few seconds.
MVYO made quick attacks through Kevizhakie, Kekhriengulie Üsou and Vikeduolie Lhoüsi but were unable to find a breakthrough.
However, it was in the 18th minute that Centurion FC, Medoneituo Sekhose heading the first goal as rival custodian Medophretuo Kezie-o failed to neatly get hold of Punuru Nienu target shot off Rabindra Meitei. In the 34th minute too, Medoneituo took a long range attempt but barely missed the target.
The injury added time of the first half could have given the much needed equalizer for MVYO had Vikeduolie managed to take a power shot from inside the box.
After the lemon break, buoyed with the solitary goal lead, Centurion did double the lead through Vekhruto Resü in the 76th minute. MVYO effort resulted in minimizing the margin as Kekhriengulie Üsou scored their only goal through a bicycle kick in 85th minute. However, they fell short of time to find the equalizer but accept the second place of the tourney.
The new champion Centurion FC bagged Rs 2 lakh with running trophy and citation while runners-up Meriema VYO got Rs 1.2 lakh with trophy and citation.
Other individual awards
Player of the Tournament – Vikethozo Zhotso of Centurion FC (two wheeler)
Best Midfielder – Vikeduolie Lhousi of Meriema VYO (Rs 10,000 with trophy & citation)
Best Defender – Daveikho Maizamo of Senapati FC Manipur (Rs 10,000 with trophy & citation)
Highest Scorer – Rhitso Mero of Kohima Eagles FC for 10 goals ((Rs 10,000 with trophy & citation)
Best Goal Keeper – Eshong Khulum of Tribal Brothers (Rs 10,000 with trophy & citation)
Symbolising the end of the 19th edition, the tournament flag was later de-hoisted and handed over to ASU President Visako Rino by Convener Organising Committee Voto Neikha.
Gracing the valedictory function as special invitee Advisor Youth & Sports Resources, Zale Neikhaalong with Advisor for DUDA N. Bongkhao Konyak gave away the awards to the winners.
In his address during the valedictory function, Neikha congratulated the ‘Angami Students Union’ (ASU) for taking initiative to organize this tournament for the last so many years.
Taking the opportunity for all enthusiastic football lovers and sportspersons, the Advisor assured that an astro-turf football ground will soon be laid out at Indira Gandhi Stadium by the end of this year or early next year.
Meanwhile the organizers have expressed it’s gratitude to all the sponsors, match patrons, participating teams, fans, Media Fraternity, Medical Department , well-wishers and everyone associated with the tourney for their support and cooperation.
(Page News Service)